Dr. Elizabeth Watkins

from The American Classical League and The National Junior Classical League

This award has been established by Dr. Dwight G. Watkins in memory of his wife who taught Latin at Oak Hills High School in Ohio. The $500.00 award is to be used in any manner the awardee chooses.


  • Minimum – 3 years of teaching Latin K-12 levels
  • State certified as a Latin teacher

Click here for printable application (pdf).

National Junior Classical League
860 NW Washington Blvd.
Suite A
Hamilton, OH 45013
Phone 513.529.7741 Fax 513.529.7742
email info@aclclassics.org

Applications must be received by February 1

Previous Recipients:

2003: Janene C. Mattingly
2004: Richard J. Beaton, Charles A. Bradshaw
2005: Susan P. Belmonte, Judith Granese
2006: Margaret Ann Smith
2007: Cynthia Burns Hazard
2008: William D. Prueter
2009: Karin Suzadail
2010: Sister Mary Delores Schneider
2011: Steven R. Perkins
2012: Mary Jo Behrensmeyer
2013: Andrea Stehle
2014: Valerie Gemskie
2015: Howard Chang
2016: Catherine Stancil
2017: Maureen Lamb
2018: Kathleen Durkin 
2018: Andrew Carroll
2020: Kelly Kusch

The American Classical League

860 NW Washington Boulevard | Suite A | Hamilton, OH 45013
Phone: 513-529-7741 | Fax: 513-529-7742