The Keely Lake Advocacy Award

Monica Frederick

Dr. Edward Vest and Lucia Johnson-Vest

Dawn Smith-Popielski and Nick Popielski

Susan Panzavecchia

Edlyn Niimi

Martha Abbott

The American Classical League’s Keely Lake Advocacy Award is intended to recognize significant and meaningful advocacy for the study of Classics from leaders outside the field of Classics. Advocates may include the following professions: business leaders, legislators, writers, school administrators, or anyone else who advocates for the Classics.

The Award is named in memory of Keely Lake, a long-time advocate for Classical Languages at the federal, state, and local levels.

ELIGIBILITY: Anyone who is an advocate for the Classics is eligible to be nominated by an ACL member. We especially encourage nominations for candidates from the region in which the ACL Institute will be held. Anyone who has taught Classics within the past five years is ineligible for this award. 

SELECTION: Typically one recipient will be selected each spring by the ACL Visibility and Advocacy Committee. Recipient(s) will be recognized and their award(s) presented by the ACL President at the annual ACL Institute banquet.
NOMINATION PROCESS: The required Keely Lake Advocacy Award nomination form must be submitted by February 1.



The American Classical League

860 NW Washington Boulevard | Suite A | Hamilton, OH 45013
Phone: 513-529-7741 | Fax: 513-529-7742