ACL is always looking for volunteers to serve as members of our many committees. 
Use the volunteer form below to share your interest.  

ACL Volunteer form

ACL/SCS Joint Committee on Classics in American Education

Mary Pendergraft, Co-chair, ACL
Ariana Traill, Co-chair, SCS

Representing ACL:

Ed DeHoratius
   Wayland High School, Wayland, Massachusetts
Mark Pearsall
   Glastonbury High School, Glastonbury Connecticut
Robert Cape
   Austin College, Sherman, Texas
Keely Lake
   Wayland Academy, Beaver Dam, Wisconsin

Representing SCS:

Philip Wlash
Barbara Weinlich




Cindy Caltagirone (Chair, Term expires 2018)
Charleston, South Carolina

Julian Morgan (Term expires 2018) Cleebourg, France
John Ricard (Term expires 2018) Pine Crest School, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
David Pellegrino (Term expires 2018) Pittsford Mendon High School, Pittsford, New York
Zee Ann Poerio (Term expires 2018) St. Louise de Marrilac Catholic School, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Kristin Webster (Term expires 2018) Marymount School, New York, New York
Debra Baker-Schneider (Term expires 2018) Seymour High School, Seymour, Indiana
Rob Latousek (emeritus) Madison, Wisconsin

Excellence Through Classics

Krystal Kubichek, Chair (Term expires 2018) Pennsauken High School, Pennsauken, New Jersey
Ruth Ann Besse, Vice-Chair (Term expires 2018) Laurel, Maryland

Michelle Ramahlo, Immediate Past Chair (Term expires 2018) Seven Bridges Middle School, Chappaqua, New York
Traci Dougherty, Secretary (Term expires 2018) Souderton Area High School, Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Andrea Weiskpof, Myth Exam Chair (Term expires 2018)

K. C. Kless, Exploratory Latin Exam Chair (Term expires 2020) Indian Hill Middle School,Cincinnati, Ohio
Andrew Carroll, Resources Coordinator (Term expires 2018) Regis Jesuit High School, Aurora, Colorado
Micheal Posey, PRIMA co-Editor (Term expires 2018) Episcopal School, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Cheryl Cheatham, PRIMA co-Editor (Term expires 2018) Dent Middle School, Columbia, South Carolina
Zee Ann Poerio, Classics Club Chair, (Term expires 2018) St. Louise de Marrilac Catholic School, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania


Voting members:

Rachel Ash, Chair
Parkview High School, Lilburn, Georgia

Ray Congo, Bob Jones HS, Madison, Alabama
Jennifer Jarnagin, Episcopal School of Dallas, Dallas, Texas
Teresa Ramsby, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, Massachusetts
Charles Umiker, Grace-St. Luke's Episcopal School, Memphis, Tennessee

Non-voting members:

David Jackson (NJCL), Oak Hall School, Gainesville, Florida
Ian Hochberg (NLE), St. Stephen's and St. Agnes School, Alexandria, Virginia
Todd Wegenhart (TMRC), Wyoming High School, Cincinnati, Ohio
Generosa Sangco-Jackson (NGE), Oak Hall School, Gainesville, Florida
Krystal Kubichek (ETC), Pennsauken High School, Pennsauken, New Jersey

Kathy Elifrits, ACL President (ex officio)


Generosa Sangco-Jackson, Chair

Willie Major, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Michael Bales, Toronto French School, Toronto, Ontario
Susan Setnik, Tufts University, Medford, Massachusetts
Catherine Mori, St. George's School, Vancouver, British Columbia
Dale Grote, University of North Carolina, Charlotte, North Carolina
Richard Davis, Hotchkiss School, Lakeville, Connecticut
Daniel McGlathery, Newton Country Day School, Newton, Massachusetts

Meritus Award

Jill Crooker, Chair, Pittsford, New York

Nick Young (expires in 2018) University of Detroit Jesuit High School, Detroit, Michigan
Dobbie Vasquez (expires in 2018) Menlo Upper School, Atherton, California
Dawn LaFon (expires in 2019) White Station High School, Memphis Tennessee
Peter Hoawrd (expires in 2020) Troy, Alabama

Middle School Latin

Rickie Crown, Co-chair
Winnetka, Illinois

Joe Davenport, Co-chair
Norwell, Massachusetts

Cynthia Swanson

National Committee for Latin and Greek

Keely Lake, Chair
Hot Springs, South Dakota

Emily Batinski, Treasurer, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Linda Montross, Executive Secretary, Heathsville, Virginia

National Junior Classical League

Catherine Sturgill, Public Relations/Membership, Chair (Term expires 2022)
David Jackson, Contests – Academics, Vice-Chair (Term expires 2019)
Dennis Webb, Constitutional Advisor (Term expires 2020*)
Sherry Jankowski, Programs/Scholastic Services (Term expires 2020*)
Seth Knowles, Contests – Creative Arts, Chair (Term expires 2020)
Kyle McGimsey, Contests – Olympika (Term expires 2020)
Generosa Sangco-Jackson, Contests – Digital (Term expires 2020)
Kurt Ristroph, Publications (Term expires 2021)
Robert McDonald, Communications, Secretary (term expires 2012)
Jennie Luongo, Contests - Certamen, (Term expires 2022)
Jennifer Jordt, Contests – Graphic Arts (Term expires 2022)
Elizabeth Bouis , Convention Advisor (Term expires 2022)

Members serve four-year terms and may be re-elected to a second term.

Those starred* are in their final term.

National Latin Exam

Linda Montross, co-Chair
Mark Keith, co-Chair


Sue Robertson, Chair
Nava Cohen
Kathleen Durkin


John Gruber-Miller, Chair

Nava Cohen, Decatur Classical School, Chicago, Illinois
Rickie Crown, Winnetka, Illinois
Ronnie Ancona, Hunter College, New York, New York
Katie Robinson, Harbor Day School, Corona del Mar, California
Barbara Weinlich, Scarnton, Pennsylvania


Charles Ham
Quinn Griffin
Audrey Fox


Elizabeth Heimbach, Chair
University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Virginia

David Fisher (term ends in 2019), Liberty High School, Henderson, Nevada
Donald Connor (term ends 2019), New Fairfield, Connecticut
Alison Orlebeke (term ends 2020), Woodbridge, Connecticut
Rachel Dowell (term ends 2020), Bishop McGuiness High School, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Roy Starling (term ends 2020), Lyndon Institute, Lyndon Center, Vermont
Anthony Parenti (term ends 2020), Boys' Latin of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Sarah Palumbo (term ends in 2021), Gilbert Classical Academy, Gilbert, Arizona


Jennifer Jordt, Chair
Victor J. Andrew High School, Tinley Park, Illinois
Amy Sommer, Development Project Liaison
Cherry Creek High School, Greenwood, Colorado

Jaime Claymore. Mountain View High School, Lawrenceville, Georgia
Brandy Henricks-Marson, San Antonio, Texas
Michele Ronnick, Wayne State University, Detroit, Michigan