Meritus/Merita Awards: Recognizing Teachers of the Classics

The American Classical League's Merita/Meritus Awards are intended to recognize sustained and distinguished service to the Classics profession generally and to ACL in particular.

2020 Recipients
Click on the recipient's name to view their comments, or the tribute to Keely Lake.

Amy Elifrits

Judith Hallett

Keely Lake

Previous Recipients


A candidate must have been an ACL member for at least five years (and, unless retired, be a current member) and a current or retired teacher of classical languages or classical humanities, broadly defined, at any level K-12 or college/university. In the case of extraordinary contributions to ACL and the Classics profession, persons who have not been Classics teachers may be considered. Current members of the ACL Board of Governors are not eligible.


Up to four recipients will be selected each spring by an awards committee consisting of teachers at the elementary, middle-school, high-school, and university levels. Recipients will be recognized and their awards presented by the ACL President at the annual ACL Institute banquet.


The required nomination forms are available below. The completed nomination forms and full curricula vitae/resumes for the nominees must be emailed by February 1. Contact Committee Chair Jill Crooker at

Deadline: Submission deadline is February 1.

Nomination Form

The American Classical League

860 NW Washington Boulevard | Suite A | Hamilton, OH 45013
Phone: 513-529-7741 | Fax: 513-529-7742